Annual Meeting 2007

Ort der Jahrestagung: Universität Zürich-Irchel

The annual meeting 2007 of the SPS was held on February 20th and 21st at the University of Zürich. About 400 participants, 168 talks and 80 posters helped to make it a remarkable event. Besides the traditional sessions, this year's symposia covered the topics "Computational Physics", "Physics in Industry and Economy", "Physics in Medicine and Biology" and "Challenges of Future Energies".

Many thanks go also to the people ‘behind the scene’, like technician, caterer, janitor and everyone contributing to a smoothly working meeting.

The starting point was a plenary session on Tuesday morning. Four excellent talks by leaders in their respective fields about magnetic resonance imaging (K. P. Prüssmann), superheavy elements (H. W. Gäggeler), a more sustainable energysystem (A. Wokaun) and computational physics (M. Parinello) allowed to catch a glimpse of the enormous breadth of physics research and involvement in Switzerland.

Three young scientists won the SPS prizes 2007 and received the awards later on the first day. Support and promotion of the young talents is an important task and a constant worry, but, luckily, the impressive quality of their work allowed to stop worrying for the rest of the day.

Another highlight was the Tuesday evening excursion to the archives of the ETH library. About 100 participants followed the invitation of the organizers and had the opportunity to see various physics related rare books, manu­scripts and photographs which are usually not displayed. The subsequent dinner in the "Doz­entenfoyer" of the old ETH building had added value in form of live music and an interesting view onto Zürich.

The second day of the meeting was mainly devoted to parallel sessions and the poster session. At the end of the day, most people we could talk to were quite satisfied and would come again. We certainly hope they will. The ones which might have left unsatisfied or the ones which did not come at all can hope­fully be convinced that the meeting can play an important role for a lively physics community in Switzerland. Criticism is necessary and highly welcome, please give us your feedback and suggestions about what we should improve for the future: sps@unibas.ch


Poster exhibition in the entrance hall during the conference
Coffee break during the conference
Common dinner in the ETH lecturer entrance hall
Evening entertainment with the band "Captain Frank"
Impressions of the guided ETH-library tour
Impressions of the guided ETH-library tour
Impressions of the guided ETH-library tour
 
[Translate to english:]

Music video of the band "Captain Frank"

Jahrestagung 2007

Ort der Jahrestagung: Universität Zürich-Irchel

 

Die Jahrestagung 2007 der SPG fand am 20. und 21. Februar an der Universität Zürich statt. Etwa 400 Teilnehmer, 168 Vorträge und 80 Poster halfen mit, dies zu einem aussergewöhnlichen Anlass werden zu lassen. Neben den traditionellen Sitzungen deckte das diesjährige Symposium die Themen „Computational Physics“, „Physik in Industrie und Wirtschaft“, „Physik in Medizin und Biologie“ und „Herausforderungen zukünftiger Energien“ab.

Ein grosser Dank geht auch an die Leute ‚hinter den Kulissen’, wie Techniker, die Leute vom Partyservice, dem Hauswart und alle die mithalfen, dass dieser Anlass reibungslos ablief.

Den Ausgangspunkt bildete die Plenarsitzung am Dienstag morgen. Vier hervorragende Vorträge von führenden Wissenschaftlern auf den Gebieten der Kernspinresonanztomographie (MRI) (K. P. Prüssmann), der superschweren Elemente (H. W. Gäggeler), eines umweltverträglicheren Energiesystems (A. Wokaun) und der Computational Physics (M. Parinello), gestatteten einen Einblick in die enorme Bandbreite der physikalischen Forschung mit Beteiligung der Schweiz.

Drei junge Physiker gewannen die SPG Awarde 2007, welche gegen Ende des ersten Tages verliehen wurden. Die Unterstützung und Förderung junger Talente ist eine wichtige Aufgabe und eine dauernde Sorge; glücklicherweise jedoch erlaubte die beeindruckende Qualität ihrer Arbeiten diese für den Rest des Tages zu vergessen.

Ein weiterer Höhepunkt war die Exkursion am Dienstag Abend in die Archive der ETH Bibliothek. Etwa 100 Teilnehmer folgten der Einladung der Organisatoren und hatten die Gelegenheit verschiedene seltene Bücher, Manuskripte und Photographien mit einem Bezug zur Physik zu sehen, welche normalerweise nicht öffentlich ausgestellt sind.

Das folgende Abendessen im „Dozentenfoyer“ des alten ETH Gebäudes rundete den Abend mit Live Musik und dem eindrücklichen Blick auf Zürich ab.

Der zweite Tag der Tagung war hauptsächlich den parallelen Sitzungen und der Posterausstellung gewidmet. Am Ende des Tages waren die meisten Leute, mit denen wir sprechen konnten, zufrieden und bereit, wieder teilzunehmen. Wir hoffen natürlich, dass sie dies auch tun werden. Wir hoffen, dass wir Diejenigen, welche möglicherweise unzufrieden oder aber gar nicht erst erschienen waren, doch überzeugen können, welch wichtige Rolle diese Tagung für eine lebendige Physik-Gemeinschaft in der Schweiz spielt. Kritik ist nötig und sehr willkommen; bitte senden Sie uns Ihr Feedback und Anregungen, wie wir diesen Anlass in Zukunft besser gestalten könnten, an: sps[at]unibas.ch


Posterausstellung im Foyer während der Tagung
Kaffeepause während der Tagung
Gemeinsames Abendessen im ETH Dozenten-Foyer
Abendunterhaltung mit der Band "Captain Frank"
Eindrücke von der Führung in der ETH Bibliothek
Eindrücke von der Führung in der ETH Bibliothek
Eindrücke von der Führung in der ETH Bibliothek
 

Musikvideo der Band "Captain Frank"