The SPS awards have been sponsored since 1991 by different companies or institutions with CHF 5,000.- each.

Following the overview of the different categories:

Applied Physics (A)

1991 – 2001Verband Schweizerischer Elektrizitätswerke (VSE), 8023 Zürich
2002 – 2004Phonak AG, 8712 Stäfa
2005 – 2006Unaxis, 8808 Pfäffikon
2007 – 2023Oerlikon Surface Solutions AG (formerly OC Oerlikon), 8808 Pfäffikon


Condensed Matter Physics (C)

since 1991IBM Research GmbH, Forschungslabor, 8803 Rüschlikon


General Physics (G)

1991 – 1996Balzers AG, LI-9496 Balzers
since 1998ABB Schweiz AG, Forschungszentrum, 5405 Dättwil (in 2021 exceptionally Hitachi ABB Power Grids Switzerland, 5400 Baden)


Space Science (S)

2005International Space Science Institute (ISSI), 3012 Bern


Metrology (M)

since 2014METAS, 3012 Bern


Computational Physics (CP)

since 2016COMSOL Multiphysics GmbH, 8005 Zürich


Energy Technology (E)

since 2022Hitachi Energy Switzerland AG, 5400 Baden


We would like to thank our sponsors who, with their engagement, make the SPS awarding to young physicists possible!