60 Years CERN

On 29 September 1954, twelve European countries established CERN, the first of Europe's intergovernmental research organizations. In doing so, they established a platform for excellence in research, innovation and training. Today, 21 states are members of CERN. Throughout 2014, CERN will be marking its 60th anniversary with a series of events celebrating 60 years of science for peace.

The Swiss national event will take place at the Annual Meeting of the Swiss Physical Society (SPS) in Fribourg. The event will culminate on July 2nd with a speech given by the CERN Director-General, Rolf Heuer, followed by a podium discussion with invited guests.