2017 Nobel Prize in Physics

The 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics was awarded to Barry C. Barish, Kip S. Thorne and Rainer Weiss. The researchers made significant contributions to the development of gravitational wave detectors. Their work enabled the first-time observation of gravitational waves on September 14, 2015.

At our joint annual meeting this topic was covered by a plenary talk by Philipp Jetzer (Uni Zürich). We present his extended abstract below, where he also appreciates the contributions of the three laureates.

Gravitational waves: a new window to explore the Universe