SPS Awards 2007

Carla Fröhlich

Prize winner Carla Fröhlich together with K. Alex Müller and Frank Kassubek (SPS Award for General Physics, sponsored by ABB)

 

Carla Fröhlich obtained her physics diploma at the University of Basel in 2003. During her studies she spent a year as an exchange student at the Simon Fraser University in Canada. As a PhD stu­dent of Prof. Thielemann in Basel she investigated nuclear reactions taking place in supernovae. She is defending her thesis at the University of Basel one of these days. Carla Fröhlich’s work has led to one of the most important discoveries in the field of nuclear astrophysics in the past few years. It includes pioneering investigations of the impact of neutrinos on the nucleosynthesis of core collapse supernovae and of their role in determining the type of ejectas produced. In this fra­mework, some long standing problems, such as the overproduction of neutron-rich iron and nickel isotopes, are now much better understood.

 

 

 

Santiago Serrano-Guisan

Prize winner Santiago Serrano-Guisan together with Paul Seidler and K. Alex Müller (SPS Award for Condensed Matter Physics, sponsored by IBM)

 

Santiago Serrano-Guisan is currently working at the "Physikalisch-Technische Bundesanstalt" in Braunschweig (Germany). After having obtained his Bachelor degree in physics at the University of Barcelona in 1998, he continued his studies in the field of Material Engineering at the Polytechnical University of Catalunya. He then did his Master work at the Université de Paris-Sud in Orsay, specializing in material science and thin film technology and, after this, he came to Switzerland in order to become a PhD student of Prof. Ansermet (the previous president of our society) at the EPF in Lausanne. His thesis had the title "Spin-dependent thermoelectrical effects in magnetic nanostructures" and, therefore, he carried out a novel type of measurement which was developed in the group of J.-Ph. Ansermet, showing the "magnetothermogalvanic voltage". Usually, the influence of the electronic spin on transport is studied by measuring the electrical conductivity, giant magnetoresistance being demonstrated in this way. However, the innovation in our laureate’s work was to look into thermoelectrical transport coefficients, which do not have the same temperature and magnetic field dependence as the resistance, giving thus interesting new insights into the be­haviour of the electronic spins.
As a researcher in Germany he is now working on "Magnetic Random Access Memory" (MRAM) technologies, for which his wide experience with magnetic structures is, without a doubt, very precious.

 

 

 

Emanuel Marc Lörtscher

Award winner Emanuel Marc Lörtscher together with Tibor Gyalog and K. Alex Müller (SPS Award for Applied Physics, sponsored by OC Oerlikon)

 

Emanuel (Marc) Lörtscher studied at ETH Zürich, where he got his diploma in physics in 2003. He was interested in Quantum Electronics already at that time and his diploma work was performed at the IBM Research Laboratory in Rüschlikon. This famous center impressed him so much that he continued working there for his PhD thesis. He was devoted to studying charge-carrier transport through single molecules. He then obtained his doctoral degree at the University of Basel, Prof. Christian Schönenberger being his advisor. Still at the IBM Lab, Emanuel Lörtscher continues to investigate the behaviour of single or small groups of molecules in electronic circuits. Thanks to his exceptional experimental skill, he has been the first to provide clear evidence that the switching effects observed in such devices has a truly molecular origin. This is a fascinating kind of "nano­physics" one could only dream of a couple of decades ago. It builds the bridge between basic quantum mechanics, determining the electronic states of the molecules, and promising future electronic applications.

SPG Preise 2007

Carla Fröhlich

Preisträgerin Carla Fröhlich mit Karl Alex Müller und Frank Kassubek (SPG Preis in allgemeiner Physik, gesponsert von ABB)

 

 

 

Carla Fröhlich erhielt 2003 ihr Physikdiplom an der Universität Basel. Während ihres Studiums verbrachte sie ein Jahr als Austausch-Studentin an der Simon Fraser Universität in Kanada. Als Doktorantin von Prof. Thielemann in Basel untersuchte sie nukleare Reaktionen die in Supernovas stattfinden. Sie wird ihre Dissertation in kürze an der Universität Basel verteidigen. Carla Fröhlichs Arbeit hat zu einer der wichtigsten Entdeckungen im Gebiet der Nuklearphysik der letzten paar Jahre geführt. Sie enthält bahnbrechende Untersuchungen über die Auswirkung von Neutrinos auf die Nucleosynthese beim Kernkollaps von Supernovae und ihre Rolle für die Bestimmung des Typs der erzeugten Ausstösse. In diesem Rahmen werden langjährige Probleme, wie z.B. die Überproduktion von neutronreichem Eisen und Nickel-Isotopen, viel besser verstanden.

 

 

Santiago Serrano-Guisan

Preisträger Santiago Serrano-Guisan mit Paul Seidler und Karl Alex Müller (SPG Preis in Physik der kondensierten Materie, gesponsert von IBM)

 

Santiago Serrano-Guisan arbeitet zur Zeit an der “Physikalisch-Technischen Bundesanstalt” in Braunschweig (Deutschland). Nach dem er 1998 sein Diplom in Physik an der Universität Barcelona erhielt, führte er seine Studien im Gebiet des Material Engineering an der Polytechnischen Universität Katalonien fort. Er machte seine Doktorarbeit an der Universität von Süd-Paris in Orsay, mit Spezialgebiet Materialwissenschaft und Dünnschichttechnik. Anschliessend kam er in die Schweiz, um Doktorand von Prof. Ansermet (vorgängiger Präsident unserer Gesellschaft) an der EPF in Lausanne zu werden. Seine Dissertation hatte den Titel "Spin-dependent thermoelectrical effects in magnetic nanostructures". Er benutzte eine neue Messmethode, welche in der Gruppe von J.-Ph. Ansermet entwickelt worden war und die "magneto-thermogalvanische Spannung" aufzeigte. Der Einfluss des Elektronenspins auf den Transport wird normalerweise durch Messung der elektrischen Leitfähigkeit untersucht; der Riesenmagnetwiderstand wird auf diese Art gezeigt. Die Neuerung der Arbeit unseres Preisträgers war, thermoelektrische Transportkoeffizienten zu beobachten, welche nicht die selbe Temperatur- und Magnetfeldabhängigkeit wie der Widerstand haben, was neue Erkenntnisse in das Verhalten des Elektronenspins brachte. Zur Zeit arbeitet er an Magnetischen Random Access Memory (MRAM) Technologien als Forscher in Deutschland, wofür seine grosse Erfahrung mit magnetischen Strukturen mit Sicherheit sehr wertvoll ist.

 

 

Emanuel Marc Lörtscher

Preisträger Emanuel Marc Lörtscher mit Tibor Gyalog und Karl Alex Müller (SPG Preis in angewandter Physik, gesponsert von OC Oerlikon)

 

Emanuel (Marc) Lörtscher studierte an der ETH Zürich, wo er 2003 sein Diplom in Physik erhielt. Schon damals war er an der Quantenelektronik interessiert und er führte seine Diplomarbeit am IBM Forschungslabor in Rüschlikon aus. Dieses berühmte Zentrum beeindruckte ihn so sehr, dass er dort blieb und an seiner Dissertation arbeitete. Er widmete seine Studien dem Transport von Ladungsträgern durch einzelne Moleküle. Danach erhielt er, unter der Aufsicht von Prof. Christian Schönenberger, seinen Doktortitel an der Universität Basel. Emanuel Lörtscher ist noch immer am IBM Labor, wo der das Verhalten von Einzel- oder kleinen Gruppen von Molekülen in elektronischen Schaltungen untersucht. Dank seiner ausserordentlichen Experimentierfähigkeit war er der Erste, der klare Beweise liefern konnte, dass die Schalteffekte, welche in solchen Apparaten beobachtet werden, in der Tat einen molekularen Ursprung haben. Dies ist eine faszinierende Art von “Nanophysik”, von der man vor einigen Jahrzehnten nur träumen konnte. Sie bildet die Brücke zwischen elementarer Quantenmechanik, welche den elektronischen Zustand der Moleküle bestimmt, und vielversprechender zukünftiger elektronischer Anwendungen.